Did you know that registration to Fighter Control is completely free and brings you lots of added features? Find out more....

Sensor cleaning

Post your questions, reviews and technical issues here.
Pune

Sensor cleaning

Post by Pune » Sun Mar 13, 2022 1:51 pm

Hi Folks,
Any advise on cleaning sensors, I have two Canon 5d 11's and I think they could do with a spring clean, DIY or camera shop?
Thanks in advance.
Cheers
Pune
If you can keep your head whilst all around are losing theirs, you have probably completely misread the situation!!

Dave Smith

Re: Sensor cleaning

Post by Dave Smith » Sun Mar 13, 2022 2:43 pm

Not recommended for those blessed with fat fongers. How are are the spots on your pictures?.

Black Mike

Post by Black Mike » Sun Mar 13, 2022 5:47 pm

I've been cleaning my own sensors for 10 years. Scary the first few times you do it but quite easy once you get the hang of it. Just watch the many videos on YouTube.

Pune

Post by Pune » Mon Mar 14, 2022 8:18 am

Dave Smith wrote:
Sun Mar 13, 2022 2:43 pm
Not recommended for those blessed with fat fongers. How are are the spots on your pictures?.
I noticed quite a few small spots on one camera recently, usually when cropping, the other one has a few big spots..
If you can keep your head whilst all around are losing theirs, you have probably completely misread the situation!!

Pune

Post by Pune » Mon Mar 14, 2022 8:19 am

Black Mike wrote:
Sun Mar 13, 2022 5:47 pm
I've been cleaning my own sensors for 10 years. Scary the first few times you do it but quite easy once you get the hang of it. Just watch the many videos on YouTube.
Thanks Mike, what is your chosen method?

slogen51

Post by slogen51 » Mon Mar 14, 2022 5:24 pm

I have dust spots

Just purchased

Camera APS-C Sensor Cleaning Kit - 6 to 12 cleanings - 12x 12mm Swab - Dust-free & vacuum-packed - 15ml- Liquid cleaner

On Amazon for £16.90 arrives tomorrow

Watched the YouTube tuition and it looks a doddle - what can go wrong?

andygolfer