Did you know that registration to Fighter Control is completely free and brings you lots of added features? Find out more....

Scanned Image Repair Tips please?

Post your questions, reviews and technical issues here.
Knife 04

Scanned Image Repair Tips please?

Post by Knife 04 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:56 pm

Hi chaps

Come across these couple in the archive - the right hand side of the scanned neg has faded compared to the left. Wonder if anybody had a work flow to repair this type of image? (have a couple more as well). Cannot find anything (sensible) on line. The 2 below have only been re-sized to allow posting

Any advice / tips / ideas gratefully received

Many thanks

Darren

ImageAny advice / work flow to repair this one please? by Darren Currie, on Flickr

ImageAny advice / work flow to repair this one please? by Darren Currie, on Flickr

ChrisCwmbran

Re: Scanned Image Repair Tips please?

Post by ChrisCwmbran » Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:23 pm

I'm no expert of this Darren but I think you might do it using something called "frequency separation".

If you Google it, you might find it of use.

I hope so anyway mate. They are well worth fixing!

tm74sqn

Post by tm74sqn » Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:05 pm

I have several sets of slides, and B&W film, that have similar problems. I have always believed that it was a defect in the original wet film processing. For example, the fixer chemical in processing tank not adequately mixed or stirred, or temperature variation from top to bottom of the fixer. Subsequent exposure to even very low levels of light over many years could then degrade the not-adequately fixed part of the images. My theory could be a load of rubbish but, in any event, I haven't ever found an answer. Hopefully someone on this forum will have a better explanation!

dollar99

Post by dollar99 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:30 pm

Darren

Missed this one, sorry.